Fraud?

Posted on Tuesday 16 March 2010

  • Company: CV Comptitus Owner: Ody Titus Website: www.comptitus.com I am trying to figure out if this company is real. I've corresponded with someone from this company by the name of Ody Titus who I believe is the owner of the company. He even sent me his "business registration" when I requested it. Whether or not it is real, I have no idea. I've seen a fake one that was listed in another question and they looked nothing alike. I checked who the website was registered under and the name, address, and company name all match the registration I received from Mr. Titus. I?m not an expert in this fraud area, so I am wondering if there are any big red flags waving in my face, so I can avoid getting ripped off.


  • It does not sound like this would help with the titul, but one of the things I use for companies that are physically coming on site to do work is insurance certificates. you have the absolute right to ask for them and insist that they be sent directly from the insurer to you, then I call the insurer and varify the info, including how long they have been insured.


  • Very good, I had suspicions about this company after reading a few of the other questions of this nature but lacked the knowledge to do a detailed check of them. Thank you for the high level of detail in your search!


  • 081- and 085- are common prefix for mobile phones in Indonesia. From overseas it would be +62 81 XXXX XXXX . You might want to try calling Mr. Titus!


  • Dear lb_300, Don't trust them, since are they are without any doubt a scam. The first thing that appeared most suspicious to me is the fact that, except for an Indonesian phone number that can belong to anyone, their website does not reveal contact information. It is always a bad sign when a company conceals their exact location. I had a look at the domain registration record. According to it, their address is Jl. Gajah Mada 121 in Jakarta 10130. I checked this address using a list with all Indonesian postal codes. The result: There is a Gajah Mada street in Jakarta, but the part where the number 121 is located has the postal code 11120, not 10130. Only the house numbers 1 to 26 at the very beginning of the street are still in the 10130 postal code area. Didn't they even know their own company's correct postal code when they registered their domain? Rather, I'd say that someone made up the address for registering the domain using a fake identity, but that person was careless and did not realize that the Gajah Mada street runs through four different postal code areas. The address is a quite clumsy fake. The telephone number in the domain registration record is 081370722269. That is by no means an Indonesian number. The first digits, 081, are actually the country code of Japan. Whether the telephone number is just made up, simply taken from some other source, or really connected with the fraudster (which I doubt since scammers do everything to not be traceable) is impossible to say. But it clearly is not a number that would belong to an Indonesian street address. By the way, the domain registration record also reveals that the domain was registered only on 3 October 2005, and it will already expire on 3 October 2006. Scammers usually register their domains for only one year; they are "disposable" domains they simply abandon once they don't need them anymore. The domain registration date 3 October 2005 is also interesting when compared with what they state on their website: "Our Store interest started in 2002..." - and they waited another three years before they finally registered their company name as a domain for their website? This is completely unrealistic. It is also worth noting that this "company" has left only very few traces on the Web in their alleged four years in business. A Google search for their company name produces only 31 results, one of them being their own website, 28 are entries in Business-to-Business portals where anyone can list a pseudo-company without bein checked for being legit, and 2 results are warnings in forums that Comptitus is a scam. One of the warnings is especially revealing since it quotes what was stated on their website in October 2005: "We have been developing for the internet since 2004." The current version of the website says: "...since 2005." They are adjusting their "company history" - in other words, they are lying. Comptitus can't be trusted. They are too shady to be considered a reliable company. Hope this helps! Regards, Scriptor Sources: Allwhois Domain Database http://www.allwhois.com/cgi-bin/allwhois.cgi Jakarta Postal Codes http://www.indonesianewsonline.com/prangko/stamps/jakarta.htm The Wholesale Forums: www.comptitus.com http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/forum/archive/index.php/t-1949.html Ebay Belgium Forum: Sites frauduleux http://forums.befr.ebay.be/thread.jspa?threadID=5480&start=207







  • #If you have any other info about this subject , Please add it free.#
    Your name:
    E-mail:
    Telphone:

    Your comments:


    If you have any other info about Fraud? , Please add it free.
    jack @ March 16, 2010 edit
    Filed under: enart.nnkl.com